A Google Play developer account costs a one-off $25. What it covers, the 12-tester test rule, the service fee, and what launching on Android really costs.
The short answer
| Item | Cost or rule | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Google Play Console registration | $25, one time | Per account, not per app. No annual renewal fee |
| Apple Developer Program, for comparison | $99 a year | See our Apple developer fee guide |
| D-U-N-S number (organisation accounts) | Free | Issued by Dun & Bradstreet; Google warns some third parties charge for it |
| Closed test for new personal accounts | 12 testers, 14 days | Accounts created after 13 November 2023 |
| Google Play service fee | 10–30% of sales | Depends on market, product type and programme. Free apps pay nothing |
Sources: Play Console Help: create an account, Play Console Help: app testing requirements, Play Console Help: service fees. Checked 13 October 2026.
That $25 is the only fixed price in putting an app on Google Play, and it is the smallest. The real cost of launching on Android is the build, the testing and the support after release, which we price further down. Last checked 13 October 2026.
This guide is about Google Play. For the Apple side, including the $99 annual fee and the $299 Enterprise programme, see Apple developer fee 2026. For which store to build for first, see App Store vs Google Play.
What the $25 covers
Google calls it a “US$25 one-time registration fee”. It is paid by Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover (US only) or Visa Electron (outside the US only). Prepaid cards are not accepted. You must be at least 18 to sign up.
Two details matter. First, identity verification is part of registration: Google may ask for a government ID and a credit card, both in your legal name, and says that if the information is found to be invalid the registration fee is not refunded. Second, the fee buys the account, not a single listing: it is charged once for the account, not per app.
Personal vs organisation account
Google offers two account types, and both can monetise through a payments profile. Choosing the wrong one is the most common avoidable mistake we see,, because it decides what Google asks you to prove.
| Personal | Organisation | |
|---|---|---|
| Intended for | Individuals: students, hobbyists, amateur developers | Businesses and groups |
| D-U-N-S number | Not required | Required. Free from Dun & Bradstreet |
| Documents for verification | Official government identity document | D-U-N-S number, official government identity document and official organisation document |
| Closed-test rule (12 testers, 14 days) | Applies if the account was created after 13 November 2023 | Not stated on Google’s testing page |
| Device check | Access to an Android device verified through the Play Console mobile app | Not stated on Google’s registration page |
| Best for | A hobby project | Any UK company, and required in practice for finance, health and government apps |
Sources: Play Console Help: account types, Play Console Help: verify your identity, Play Console Help: app testing requirements. Checked 13 October 2026.
Google says to choose an organisation account if you provide financial services, health apps, VpnService-approved apps or government apps. For anything a company will publish, the organisation account is also cleaner commercially: the listing shows your company, and the account does not depend on one person’s ID. Documents must exactly match the information in your payment profile, so use the legal company name throughout.
A D-U-N-S number is nine digits assigned by Dun & Bradstreet. Google says the number is issued for free, so ignore any service charging a fee to obtain it. Ask for it early, because it is an external dependency you do not control.
The closed-testing rule for new personal accounts
Google’s help page states that personal accounts created after 13 November 2023 need “a minimum of 12 testers who have been opted in continuously for at least 14 days” in a closed test before the app can go to production. The 14 days must be consecutive.
| Step | What Google says |
|---|---|
| Run a closed test | At least 12 testers opted in, continuously, for at least 14 days |
| Apply for production | Dashboard in Play Console, then “Apply for production” and answer questions about the test, the app and production readiness |
| Review | “Usually takes seven days or less, but can occasionally take longer” |
| If rejected | You may have to keep testing. Google lists fewer than 12 opted-in testers and insufficient tester engagement as reasons |
Sources: Play Console Help: app testing requirements for new personal accounts. Checked 13 October 2026.
The practical effect is that a first release on a personal account has a three-week floor between “build works” and “public”: two weeks of testing plus up to a week of review. Plan the launch date backwards from that. If you register as an organisation, Google’s testing page does not state that this rule applies to you, but check the current wording in Play Console when you register, because Google changes these rules.
Google Play service fee: what Google takes from sales
The registration fee is separate from the service fee on what you sell. Google says there is no single service fee, that 97% of developers distribute their apps at no charge, and that of those who do pay, 99% are eligible for a fee of 15% or less through Google’s programmes. If your app is free and has no in-app purchases, you pay nothing beyond the $25.
| Where the user is | Subscriptions | Other transactions |
|---|---|---|
| UK, US, EEA, Australia, Japan (new installs from the regional rollout date, first $1M a year) | 10% + 5% billing fee | 20% + 5% billing fee |
| UK, US, EEA, Australia, Japan (existing installs) | 10% + 5% billing fee | 25% + 5% billing fee, or 20% for external web links |
| All remaining markets (15% tier) | 15% | 15% on the first $1M a year, 30% above it |
Sources: Play Console Help: service fees. Checked 13 October 2026.
Google’s page sets the rollout date for the UK, US and EEA at 30 June 2026, and treats installs before and after it differently; lower rates apply for developers in programmes such as Play Apps Experience. This table is a summary of a page that changes, and it only applies to digital goods sold through Google Play billing. Model your revenue from the live page, not from this table.
We design and build iOS and Android apps for UK businesses and start-ups, from prototype to the App Store. First release in 6–8 weeks; developers from £49/hour.
The real cost of launching on Android
The $25 is rounding error against everything else. These are Magora’s published 2026 ranges for UK projects, in pounds sterling:
| What you need | Typical budget | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Free working prototype | £0 | 5–10 working days |
| Discovery sprint (scope, architecture, fixed-price quote) | from £3,000 | 2 weeks |
| Startup MVP, iOS and Android, one or two core journeys | £10,000–£25,000 | 6–8 weeks |
| Production app with backend and admin | £25,000–£60,000 | 3–6 months |
| Regulated or integration-heavy product | £80,000–£120,000 | 5–8 months |
| Support after launch | from £1,000 a month | ongoing |
Source: Magora, App development cost UK 2026 and Magora pricing, 2026. Support starts from £1,000 a month and scales with the scope of the project. Rates start from £49 an hour per developer and £65–£70 an hour for a full team with QA and product ownership.
Design and build
Design and build are one line in the table, not two, because on a fixed-scope MVP they run together. Android adds work that iOS does not: the device range is far wider, so screens have to hold up across sizes, manufacturer skins and Android versions. If you build one cross-platform codebase for both stores, the second platform costs less than a separate native app, but it is not free. Our guide to developing an Android app covers the native and cross-platform choice.
Testing devices and QA
Budget for testing on real hardware, not just emulators, covering at least a recent flagship, a mid-range phone and an older device on the oldest Android version you support. Our estimates add QA at 30% of development time and product ownership at 20%,. If you have a personal account, you also need 12 real people for the closed test, which means recruiting them early.
Ongoing support
An app that is not maintained breaks: operating system updates, library updates, crashes and store policy changes all arrive without asking. Magora’s support starts from £1,000 a month and scales with the scope of the project. A larger product with SLAs, monitoring and regular releases is scoped on top of that, so ask for it as part of the quote rather than after launch.
Other costs outside the build
Backend hosting, push notifications, analytics and crash reporting: free tiers first, paid as users grow.
A privacy policy and the Play Console data-safety form, which you complete for every app.
Apple’s $99 a year if you also ship on iOS (see Apple developer fee).
Engineer time for store rejections. Budget one or two rounds on a first release.
For a number on your own feature list, use the free app cost calculator, or ask for a free working prototype before you commit to a budget.
Checklist before you pay the $25
Decide who owns the app. Register the account in your company’s name, not a developer’s.
Choose organisation, and request your D-U-N-S number now.
Make sure the legal name matches your payment profile and documents exactly.
Line up 12 testers if the account is personal.
Put the support email, privacy policy and a demo login (if the app needs one) in place before the first review.
Google Play developer account cost: frequently asked questions
How much does a Google Play developer account cost in 2026?
A one-time registration fee of $25, paid by card when you create the account. There is no annual renewal fee. Google's service fee on sales is separate and only applies if you sell through Google Play billing.
Is the Google Play Console fee a yearly charge?
No. Google describes it as a one-time registration fee. Apple's Developer Program, by contrast, is charged per membership year.
Do I need a personal or an organisation account?
A UK business should register as an organisation. That needs a D-U-N-S number, which Dun & Bradstreet issues free of charge. Google says to choose an organisation account if you provide financial services, health apps, VpnService apps or government apps.
What is the 12 testers for 14 days rule?
Personal accounts created after 13 November 2023 must run a closed test with at least 12 testers who stay opted in continuously for at least 14 days before they can apply for production access. Google's help page says review after applying usually takes seven days or less, but can take longer.
How much does Google Play take from sales?
It depends on the market and the programme. For users in the UK and US, Google's table lists 10% on auto-renewing subscriptions and 20% on other transactions from new installs, on the first $1M a year, each plus a 5% billing fee. Elsewhere the table lists 15% on the first $1M and 30% above it. Check the current page before you model revenue.
How much does it cost to put an app on Google Play, all in?
The $25 is the smallest line. Building the app is the real cost: Magora's published 2026 UK ranges are £10,000–£25,000 for an iOS and Android MVP and £25,000–£60,000 for a production app with a backend and admin. Support after launch starts from £1,000 a month.
Can Magora publish the app on Google Play for us?
Yes. We register the Play Console account in your company's name, so you own the listing, reviews and analytics from day one, and we handle the closed test, store listing and release.
Ready to launch on Android?
Free 30-minute call: we will estimate your app and set up the Google Play account in your company’s name.
- A first estimate and timeline for your feature list
- Play Console account, D-U-N-S and closed test handled
- Android and iOS releases from one team
Read more: MVP development · mobile app development company · Discovery phase